Menu
Home Page

Lingey House Primary School

  • Search

Phase 3

Friday 29th January

Your sound today is the 'ar' for star. Learn about the sound with Geraldine, then there is an optional sheet (to print or look at on screen) to read words and decide which are real words and which are nonsense words. 

Mr Thorne Does Phonics - Episode AR

ar for star

Thursday 28th January

Today's sound is the short 'oo' sound, like in 'book'. Choose between Geraldine and the Letters and Sounds video below. There is also an optional Powerpoint to look at. 

Mr Thorne Does Phonics - Episode OO (short /u/)

oo for book

Wednesday 27th January

Today's sound is the long 'oo' sound, like in 'boots'. How many words can you think of and write with this sound? Both Geraldine and the Letters and Sounds videos are below to choose from, as well as a Powerpoint to practice your reading...

Mr Thorne Does Phonics - Episode OO (long)

oo for moon

Tuesday 26th January

Today's sound is the 'oa' for goat sound. You could learn with Geraldine or the Letters and Sounds video below. There is also an optional printable task. 

Geraldine the Giraffe learns /oa/ for goat

'oa' for goat

Monday 25th January

A couple of options today for a change - you can learn with the usual Letters and Sounds video below, with Geraldine Giraffe, or both! I have also put an optional sheet for those of you who would like to either print it, or work through it on screen. 

Optional printable sheet - which words are real, which are nonsense?

Geraldine the Giraffe learns /igh/ for light

Letters and Sounds - igh for light

Friday 22nd January

'ee' in see

Thursday 21st January

'ai' in rain

Wednesday 20th January

Phoneme: 'ng'

Tuesday 19th January

Phoneme: 'th'

Monday 18th January

'sh' sound

Friday 15th January

The 'ch' sound

Friday 8th January- Phase 3

Our Letters and Sounds Phonics lessons teach children to read letters and begin to blend to read words.

Top